[previous] [discog index] [next]

Out-takes, Castaways, Pirate Women and Takeaways
  1. Also Sprach 2001 7.57
  2. All Of These Things 4.44
  3. CCR Versus The 3rd Reich 9.05
  4. If Not For You 3.27
  5. Eternally Yours 5.03
  6. Mona 3.31
  7. Okie From Muskogee 4.03
  8. Poor Howard 5.04
  9. Horse Under Water 5.08
  10. Kissin' Cousins 3.08
  11. Hunker Down 4.31
  12. La Di Doh (live) 6.18
  13. Rough Neck Blues 2.10

[More recording info on the songs below]


Hot Records, HOT 1078CD

Released October/November 2001 (Australia),
21 January 2002 (Europe)

A compilation of alternate versions of Ed's songs.

The tracks are taken from the following sessions...

Also Sprach (1), Eternally Yours (5) and Horse Under Water (9) was recorded autumn 1995, with Mark Dawson and Phil Punch, intended for an EP of new recordings of old songs, to be released after King In The Kindness Room album.

All of these things (2) was recorded early 1999 with Rachel Holmshaw (featured on Raoul Graf's album Splinters, which Ed produced) on vocals.

CCR Versus The Third Reich (3) was recorded (in two takes!) 1995 by Mark Dawson, Louise Elliott and Ed.

If Not For You (4), Okie (7) and Kissin' Cousin (10) was recorded in a marathon weekend session (which served as a warm-up session for the Character Assassination recordings) in early 1994. Some of the songs were intended to be "b-sides" on singles from the Character Assassination album, but since there were no singles (except If I Had A Ticket...

Mona (6) was recorded and intended for the Today Wonder album but reportedly "didn't fit" among the other songs.

Poor Howard (8) is here a slightly earlier mix than the one that ended on Frontierland. Check the "nifty" horn section which didn't make it onto final mix! :-)

Rough Neck Blues (13) is from the same Frontierland sessions. This is a version with normal speed on the vocals and less kazoo...

Hunker Down (11) is a casualty from the King In The Kindness Room recordings and not available elsewhere.

La Di Doh (12) is recorded live at the Domain, Sydney, 1994. The backing band is a stripped down version of The Institute of Nude Wrestling (Ed, Dawson and Linda Neil). Also available on the Big Backyard compilation album.

All songs by Ed Kuepper, except track 4 (Dylan), track 6 (McDaniels), track 7 (Haggard/Burns), track 10 (Giant/Baume/Kaye) and track 13 (trad arr Kuepper)

Produced by Ed Kuepper and Phil Punch

Ed Kuepper - vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
Mark Dawson - drums, percussion
Rachel Holmshaw - vocals on track 2
Linda Neil - violin on track 12
and others...

A nice pic of Ed from the booklet